Distributed and Multi-Agent Planning (DMAP)

Dates postponed due to COVID-19.

Multi-Agent Planning (MAP) is a broad field with many applications, but its subfields remain mostly dispersed and uncoordinated. There has been a steady interest in multi-agent planning in recent years. Specifically, progress has been made in formalizing general models, algorithmic techniques, and solution concepts for the MAP problem and privacy-preserving algorithms. The main goal of this 6th Workshop on Distributed and Multi-Agent Planning (DMAP), as in the previous editions, is to bring researchers working in these subfields together and to bridge the gap between the planning and multi-agent systems communities.

CFP in plain-text form.


The organizing committee of DMAP 2020 invites paper submissions on topics related to distributed and multi-agent planning. Relevant topics to the workshop are, among others:

  • Multiagent planning and scheduling applications
  • Techniques to overcome multiagent planning complexity
  • Plan coordination/merging
  • Distributed planning and scheduling
  • Multiagent planning system architectures
  • Multi-robot systems
  • Self-interested planning agents
  • Game theoretic planning
  • Distributed planning under uncertainty
  • Privacy in distributed planning
  • Evaluation and benchmarks for distributed planning
  • Centralized, decentralized and factored multiagent planning
  • Multiagent planning problem modeling techniques and languages
  • Domain-dependent and domain-independent multiagent planning
  • Heuristics for multiagent planning

Important Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: July 26, 2020 (UTC-12 timezone)
  • Notification of acceptance: August 14, 2020
  • Camera-ready paper submissions: TBD
  • Workshop date: October 26-27, 2020 (TBA)

Submission Instructions

Submitted papers must be in PDF only, formatted in AAAI style. Refer to the author instructions on the AAAI web site for detailed formatting instructions and LaTeX style files. Unlike at the main conference, there will be a high-quality single-blind review (where the authors do not know who the reviewers are), while each submission will be reviewed by at least two committee members against the standard ICAPS criteria of significance, soundness, scholarship, clarity, and reproducibility. However, the submission may be less evolved than at the main conference.

The workshop is meant to be an open and inclusive forum, and we encourage papers that report on work in progress or that do not fit the mold of a typical conference paper. Non-trivial negative results are welcome to the workshop, but we expect the authors to argue for the significance of the presented results to alternative lines of research on the topic of choice.

Authors considering submitting to the workshop papers rejected from the main conference, please ensure you do your utmost to address the comments given by ICAPS reviewers. Please do not submit papers that are already accepted for the main conference to the workshop. Submissions sent to other conferences are allowed. However, it is the responsibility of the authors to ensure that those venues allow for papers submitted to be already published in “informal” ways (e.g., on proceedings or websites without associated ISSN/ISBN).

Final papers will be in the same format, therefore keep them to at most 8+1 pages long (meaning 8 pages plus 1 extra page containing only references). We also welcome the submission of short position papers (at most 4+1 pages long). Papers must be submitted by July 26, 2020. The deadline refers to 23:59 hours. The reference timezone for the deadline is UTC-12.

Paper submissions should be made through Easychair.

At least one author of each accepted paper must attend the workshop in order to present the paper. The authors must register for the ICAPS main conference in order to attend the workshop. There will be no separate workshop-only registration.


  • Ronen I Brafman (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)
  • Eva Onaindia (Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain)
  • Shashank Shekhar (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)

Program Committee

  • Shlomo Zilberstein (University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA)
  • Mathijs de Weerdt (Delft University of Technology (TU Delft), Netherlands)
  • Ronen Brafman (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)
  • Anders Jonsson (Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona, Spain)
  • Guy Shani (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)
  • Eva Onaindia (Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain)
  • Roni Stern (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)
  • Antonín Komenda (Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Michal Štolba (Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic)


Please direct all questions to the workshop organizers – Shashank Shekhar (BGU), Ronen Brafman (BGU), and Eva Onaindia (Universidad Politecnica de Valencia).